The Salem Arcanum Tarot
Photographic Interpretations of the Tarot by James Bostick
The images and symbols of the Tarot tradition have a rich and ancient history. I’ve been inspired by these images and here attempt my ownphotographic interpretations of the visual language that is the Tarot. For me thisseries attempts to deconstruct the symbol systems of the Tarot in an effortunderstand the evolution of meaning attached to these images. In a time whenit’s far to common to believe each photo we see has been digitally manipulatedI also strive to only capture the scene as seen before my camera. In my studioI create theater and story telling for each theme, captured for others to findtheir own meaning and symbolic value. For those who believe in the mysteries ofthe Tarot they contain personality and attempt divination at the heart of eachimage. Combined they become a secret language and form of expression uniquelytheir own.

0 - The Fool

I - TheMagician

II - The High Priestess

III - TheEmpress

IV - TheEmperor

V - The Hierophant
VI - The Lovers

VIII –Justice

IX The Hermit

X - Wheel fo Fortune
XII - The Hanged Man

XIII – Death

XIV - Temperance

XV - TheHorned God (the Devil)

XVIII - The Moon
XX - Judgement
XXI - The World

Queen ofCups

King of Cups
Ace of Cups
Three ofCups
Five of Cups
Seven of Cups
Knave fo Wands
Ace of Wands
Knave of Pentacles
Ace of Pentacles
Seven of Pentacles
Queen of Swords
Ace of Swords
Three ofSwords
Four ofSwords
Six of Swords
Eight of Swords
The spiritof restlessness. You are a temporary prisoner of the self. Lack of confidenceand motivation to initiate a necessary change is blocking progress. Eight ofSwords reveals a temporary loss of sight of the circumstances around you.Discard old ideas for new ones.
“If there isdissatisfaction with the status quo, good. If there is ferment, so much thebetter. If there is restlessness, I am pleased. Then let there be ideas, andhard thought, and hard work. If man feels small, let man make himself bigger.” -Hubert H. Humphrey
Ten ofSwords

You may also like

Back to Top